Start a new topic

I don't understand

This is more of a complaint.  You are supposed to have more and better photo records than Find -A- Grave.  Yet, there is not ONE photo for Old Gooch Cemetery in Mason, Mason County, TX.  Also looking for my grandparent's headstones in Dallas, TX, yet none for them either.  You brag about being better than the other site, yet you have nothing I'm looking for.  You need to shape up and quit bragging.

1 Comment

Wait a minute!  Our site is different completely from Find A Grave!  We are also a younger company, currently in the process of gathering records. We do not claim that we have every cemetery, nor do we claim to be better, just different. 

As a researcher, I still use Find A Grave as stones deteriorate over time and their photos are a couple of decades older than ours. I use their site to verify some of the oldest stones in our collection.  We both serve different purposes. Their records serve as memorials, ours serve as verifiable genealogical records. This is due to the fact that we use GPS and a volunteer for every photo. Many of their photos and records were created by hobbyists who have had private photos in their possession, or who had access to secondary sources of one kind or another. 

Just like Find A Grave we are also a volunteer operation. If you are not finding your familly records in our collection, it means that the cemetery they are buried in has not been photographed with our app.  You can place a photo request in at the cemetery your family is buried in, or better yet, you can go to that cemetery and take photos yourself! I have travelled the United States from my home in Utah to capture my relative's gravestones with verifiable GPS records taken with the app. This has taken me to California, Virginia, West Virginia, Maryland, Alabama, Georgia, Tennessee and the great state of Texas.